The 2011 BAFTA FILM AWARD Winners!

By on 14 February, 2011

There were few suprises at last night’s British Academy Film Awards, with ‘The King’s Speech‘ getting the crown for the most awards on the night!

Director Tom Hooper‘s movie won seven prizes, including best film, actor for Colin Firth, supporting actor and supporting actress for Geoffrey Rush and Helena Bonham Carter, respectively, original screenplay for David Seidler, music for Alexandre Desplat and outstanding British film!

Bonham Carter was surprised to beat the likes of Miranda Richardson and Amy Adams but didn’t overly gush during her acceptance speech.

She said:

“I’m so used to losing, it’s a strange feeling to win.

“It feels nice but, kids, if you’re watching, it’s not all about the winning.”

However, one surprise was that ‘The Social Network‘ didn’t manage to pick up as many awards as they had hoped. David Fincher received the director award for ‘The Social Network‘, Aaron Sorkin for adapted screenplay, the pic also picked up a prize for editing.

Natalie Portman took home the actress prize for ‘Black Swan‘ but was unable to make the trip to London due to her pregnancy.

Inception‘ left with three awards, including special visual effects, production and sound. ‘Alice in Wonderland‘ won for makeup and hair and costume design, while ‘True Grit‘ took home the cinematography prize. ‘The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo‘ won the prize for film not in the English language.

Tim Burton was not only there to support Bonham Carter but also to present Christopher Lee with a long-overdue BAFTA Fellowship.

Stephen Fry presented the ‘Harry Potter‘ franchise with the award for outstanding contribution to British cinema. It was accepted by producer David Heyman and author J.K. Rowling, with directors Alfonso Cuaron, Mike Newell and David Yates joining them onstage.

In acceptance speech, Rowling said:

“It’s very strange to look back after seven films and remember how wary I was about letting anyone put my books on the screen.”

So, were you surprised by any of the winners?

Here is the full list of this year’s winners:

BEST FILM –  ‘The King’s Speech’.

BEST DIRECTOR – David Fincher, ‘The Social Network’.

BEST LEADING ACTRESS – Natalie Portman, ‘Black Swan’.

BEST LEADING ACTOR – Colin Firth, ‘The King’s Speech’.

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY – ‘The Social Network’, Aaron Sorkin.

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY – ‘True Grit’, Roger Deakins.

BEST ANIMATED FILM – ‘Toy Story 3’, Lee Unkrich.

OUTSTANDING BRITISH FILM – ‘The King’s Speech’, Tom Hooper, David Seidler, Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin.


BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS – Helena Bonham Carter, ‘The King’s Speech’.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – Geoffrey Rush, ‘The King’s Speech’.

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY – David Seidler, ‘The King’s Speech’.

BEST COSTUME DESIGN – ‘Alice in Wonderland’, Colleen Atwood.

BEST MAKEUP AND HAIR – ‘Alice in Wonderland’, Valli O’Reilly, Paul Gooch.

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN – ‘Inception’, Guy Hendrix Dyas, Larry Dias, Doug Mowat.

SPECIAL VISUAL EFFECTS – ‘Inception’, Chris Corbould, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Peter Bebb.

BEST FILM NOT IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE – ‘The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo’, Søren Staermose, Niels Arden Oplev.

BEST EDITING – ‘The Social Network’, Angus Wall, Kirk Baxter.

BEST SOUND – ‘Inception’, Richard King, Lora Hirschberg, Gary A. Rizzo, Ed Novick.


About Ed Bonilla

Ed is an entertainment news writer, and founder of TOMORROW'S NEWS. He always keeps a watchful eye on who and what's trending in the entertainment world. His articles focus on tomorrow's news today, including celebrity news, film news, music news and so much more!

What Are Your Thoughts On This?