New AMY WINEHOUSE Album Set For December 2011!


A new album of some of Amy Winehouse’s unheard material is to be released this December (2011), featuring a mixture of new songs and covers!


The collection will be titled Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures, and features some new songs as well as her versions of other people’s songs collected from recordings made throughout her career.

One of the original songs on the album is called Between the Cheats, an emotional never-before-heard track about her ex-husband Blake Fielder-Civil, and cover the famous Leon Russell track, A Song for You‘, which Winehouse recorded in a single take while recovering from drug addiction in 2009.

After listening back to the album for the first time, her father, Mitch, told tabloid rag The Sun:

“I spent so much time chasing after Amy – telling her off – that I never realised what a true genius she was.

“It wasn’t until I sat down with the rest of the family and listened to this album that I fully appreciated the breadth of her talent. From jazz standards to hip-hop songs, it took my breath away.

“One of the new songs on the album, ‘Halftime’, I’d never heard before. It is just incredibly beautiful.”


The album has been lovingly put together by Frank and Back to Black producers Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson, after listening to thousands of hours of vocals recorded by the singer to pick out the songs for inclusion on the record.

Remi said:

“When I listened back you would hear some of the conversations in between – that was emotional. I believe she has left something beyond her years. She has put a body of work together that will inspire an unborn generation.

“I’m blessed to be part of that process, to have known that person and to continue her legacy with this album.”

The album is set to be released on the 5th December, 2011, and £1 from every sale will go to the newly established Amy Winehouse Foundation, which is helping a number of children’s charities.


Tracklisting from Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures:

1. ‘Our Day Will Come (Reggae Version)’ – Cover of a doo-wop standard

2. ‘Between the Cheats’ – Previously unreleased new song

3. ‘Tears Dry’ – Original ballad version of ‘Tears Dry on Their Own’

4. ‘Wake up Alone’ – March 2006 demo

5. ‘Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow’ – Cover of Shirelles song

6. ‘Valerie’ – Slower version of track recorded with Mark Ronson

7. ‘Like Smoke’ featuring Nas – Previously unreleased new song

8. ‘The Girl from Ipanema’ – Cover of bossa nova standard

9. ‘Halftime’ – Previously unreleased new song

10. ‘Best Friends’ – February 2003 recording

11. ‘Body and Soul’ with Tony Bennett – Cover of jazz standard

12. ‘A Song for You’ – Cover of Leon Russell song recorded spring 2009



Share This


Wordpress (0)